The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published by an American publisher in the United States in English during the preceding year. Hulstrom K-8 extends a challenge to our students to read the books and fill out response sheets for each title. Those students choosing the Silver Medal level will read and write responses for at least 25 titles and 40 or more for the Gold medal level. Students should complete their challenges within 3 years. Awards will be given at the end of year ceremonies.

Submit Your Newberry Response Here

2016 Medal Winner


Last Stop on Market Street, written by Matt de la Peña, illustrated by Christian Robinson and published by G. P. Putnam’s Sons, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA) LLC. CJ’s journey with his Nana is not just a simple bus ride; it is a multi-sensory experience through which he discovers that beautiful music, nature and people surround him.  CJ’s questions are familiar, and Nana answers him with gentle wisdom.  Right up until their arrival at the last stop on Market Street, Nana guides CJ to become “a better witness for what’s beautiful.”

Click here for Newbery Medal and Honor Books, 1922-Present