Back to top

Newbery Challenge

The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. The Newbery Medal is awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. Hulstrom K-8 extends a challenge to our students to earn their own Newbery Medal! Students must read the books and fill out a response sheet for each title. Silver Medals will be awarded to those students who read and write responses for at least 25 titles and Gold Medals will be given to those who read and write responses for at least 40 titles. Students should complete their challenge within 3 years and responses must be submitted by the second week in April (to allow time for printing/engraving). Medals will be given at the end of year.

Submit Your Newberry Response Here

New Kid Book Review

The 2020 Newbery Medal Winner — New Kid, by Jerry Craft

An honest look at starting over in a new school where diversity is low and the struggle to fit in is real.  This graphic novel is tender and heartbreaking, yet funny and uplifting. A story sure to resonate deeply with young readers.

Click here for the list of Newbery Medal winners from 1922-present